About us


The necessity to dispose of radioactive waste in deep geologic formations in order to provide a management solution which is safe in the long term without requiring active measures in the future is no longer debated amongst decision makers and the interested public. In fact, it is necessary that Germany meets international standards in all matters concerning radioactive waste disposal. There are, however, still varying views concerning the choice of a suitable disposal site as well as with regard to the assignment of responsibilities in the future.

The Institute of Disposal Research (IELF) which was founded on August 1, 2007, is the only university institute in Germany dealing with the issue in research and education in a comprehensive way.
Interdisciplinary research concerning site characterisation, site investigation, geotechnical barrier systems, and safety cases takes place in the areas of


•    Geomechanics (co-opted department),

•    Hydrogeology and hydrogeochemistry (Institute for Geology and
      Paleontology),

•    Mineral resources,

•    Repository systems.

The Institute of Disposal Research follows on from the earlier Institute of Mineralogy and Mineral Resources. The departments of "Mineralogy, Geochemistry and Salt Deposits" as well as "Mineral Resources" continue along the lines of their previous expertise. The current focus of research is the petrology of the upper mantle and deep crust, and the economic geology and exploration of mineral deposits, respectively.

With regard to academic education, IELF focuses at the national level on the Master Course ‘Radioactive and Hazardous Waste Management’ and at the EU level on the EURATOM-based master programme ENEN-II (European Network of Nuclear Engineering).
We also teach on mineralogy, geochemistry and economic geology for various curricula on mining, mineral extraction, energy and geoenvironmental sciences, and participate in BSc and MSc training in economics  and environmental engineering.



You can move the map by dragging with the mouse and zoom by using the scroll wheel. Alternatively you can zoom by pressing + or - and move the map by using the cursor keys. You can turn on and off different layers on the map via the menu that will open if you click the "+" on the right side of the map.

 

Contact  Search  Sitemap  Datenschutz  Imprint
© TU Clausthal 2017

Über uns


In der interessierten Öffentlichkeit wie auch bei politischen Entscheidungsträgern ist die Notwendigkeit der langfristig sicheren und nachsorgefreien Endlagerung radioaktiver Abfälle in tiefen geologischen Formationen nicht mehr strittig. Vielmehr ist es erforderlich, dass sich Deutschland in allen Endlagerfragen internationalen Standards stellt. Allerdings bestehen nach wie vor unterschiedliche Auffassungen zur Standortfrage wie auch zur künftigen Verteilung von Zuständigkeiten und Verantwortlichkeiten.
Das am 1. August 2007 neu gegründete Institut für Endlagerforschung der TU Clausthal (IELF) ist das einzige Universitätsinstitut in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, das sich in Forschung und Lehre umfassend mit diesem Thema beschäftigt.


In den Disziplinen

•    Endlagersysteme,

•    Geochemie-Mineralogie-Salzlagerstätten,

•    Geomechanik (Kooptierendes Fachgebiet),

•    Hydrogeologie und -geochemie (räumlich im Institut für Geologie und
      Paläontologie) und

•    Lagerstätten und Rohstoffe.

erfolgt eine interdisziplinäre Forschung zu Fragen der Standortcharakterisierung, der Standorterkundung, der geotechnischen Sicherheitssysteme und des Langzeitsicherheitsnachweises. Das IELF ist aus dem früheren Institut für Mineralogie und  Mineralische Rohstoffe hervorgegangen. Die früheren Arbeitsrichtungen "Mineralogie, Geochemie und Salzlagerstätten" sowie "Lagerstätten und Rohstoffe" werden weitergeführt. Hierbei sind die laufenden Schwerpunkte die Petrologie des oberen Mantels und der tiefen kontinentalen Kruste, sowie Lagerstättenforschung zu metallischen Rohstoffen und deren Exploration.

In der Lehre konzentriert sich das IELF der TU Clausthal auf die Ausbildung qualifizierten Nachwuchses. Schwerpunkte der akademischen Ausbildung ist der Bachelor-Studiengang 'Rohstoff- Geowissenschaften' und die Vertiefungsrichtung des Geoenvironmental Engineering Master-Studiengangs 'Management und Endlagerung radioaktiver Abfälle' .

Des Weiteren erbringen wir Lehrleistungen rohstofforientierter, material- und geowissenschaftlich ausgerichteter Studiengänge und sind an der Ausbildung von Wirtschafts- sowie umweltwissenschaftlichen Ingenieuren beteiligt.



Das IELF ist maßgeblich an der Forschungsplattform ENTRIA beteiligt (www.entria.de). Es ist Mitglied der Deutschen Arbeitsgemeinschaft Endlagerforschung (DAEF, http://www.endlagerforschung.de/).

Campuskarte

Sie können die Karte durch Festhalten und Ziehen mit der Maus verschieben und durch Drehen des Mausrades vergrößern und verkleinern. Alternativ können Sie die Karte auch über die Cursortasten verschieben.

 

Kontakt  Suche  Sitemap  Datenschutz  Impressum
© TU Clausthal 2017